Embracing Prints

Fall is by far my favorite San Francisco time of year.  Most people consider Winter or Spring the season of new beginnings, but to me, Fall has always been the time of fresh starts.  As the leaves on the trees begin to change color, marking the end of one cycle and the beginning of the next, it always gives me the sense of a renewed spirit.  This year, however, I wanted to hold on to my summer just a little longer as I wasn’t quite ready to welcome Fall.  I’m enjoying my venture into the world of colors as I mentioned in my last blog post and I wanted a few more weeks to integrate summer prints and colors into my wardrobe.  Luckily for me, we have quite moderate temperatures in the Bay Area during the Fall so I still had time for one last hurrah with a summer dress.

I used Vogue pattern V8278 and an inexpensive floral print fabric from Joann’s Fabrics.

This was a new pattern for me and it said “Very Easy” so I didn’t start with a muslin as I normally would with a new pattern.  But I also didn’t want to ruin any expensive fabric in the off chance that the pattern didn’t turn out to be so easy.  Well, the pattern was exactly that, quite easy, and one that I will most certainly sew again (perhaps in a knit this time…I’m thinking a slate grey knit once I’m finally ready to accept the fact that Fall has arrived).

Although the pattern appears quite fitted, coupled with this fabric it actually has enough ease to let you move comfortably in it.

My ever so darling MIL came to visit us recently month so after church we took her on the customary Napa Valley wine tasting ritual where she orders bottles of wine to send back for the family in Miami and we picnic for the day. The weather was perfect and one of the many reasons I love living in the Bay Area.  We made a day of it, enjoying time with family, good food, and of course…great wine.  Time stood still that day.  We ate, watched my nieces play, my dad napped under a tree, and my mom and sister, well…they sampled the wine, of course.

Hmmm…Not quite sure how that soda from Sonic got into the photo.

And of course I topped my handmade floral print with:
Earrings – Stella & Dot Chantilly Lace
Bag – Olivia & Joy
Shoes – Luxury Rebel’s Selma black suede wedges from Bloomingdales

I only wish I had a better camera, the photo I have doesn’t do justice to the earrings, they’re my new favorite go-to earrings so I’ve added a photo below from the Stella & Dot website.

Leave a Reply

